The Roaring 80’s

I missed Harwell’s timbre,
So I found some on the net.
But 84′, when the Tigers roared,
Was all that I could get.

I smiled for while recalling
The moxie of Morris as he tossed a no hitter,
His crafty curve ball,
Bombing breaker, sizzling splitter.

But thoughts of 84′, turned to thoughts of 82′.
How you loved Ernie, and how we lost you.
Your relentless punning on Gibson’s name:
“Gibby a home run!”
Whenever his turn came.

How I wish you’d made 84′
And could hear
Those Tigers roar.

detroittiger

Leave a Reply

